

Staff Report

Date:	February 9, 2017
То:	Mayor Kathleen Hoertkorn and Council Members
From:	Heidi Scoble, Planning Manager
Subject:	Town Council authorization to extend Advisory Design Review Group member terms to June 27, 2017

Recommendation

Town Council continue the existing appointments of Advisory Design Review Group (ADR) members Josefa Buckingham, Dan Winey, Stephen Sutro, Eric Soiffer, Mark Kruttschnitt, Peter Nelson, and Chris Nuemann to June 27, 2017.

Background and discussion

Per Resolution 1694, Advisory Design Review (ADR) was established as an advisory and voluntary design review process that provides profession review of design related issues, including site planning, building massing, setbacks, light/air, privacy, as well as materials selection in architectural and landscape design. The ADR Group was established to include "at least five Ross residents, four with professional design backgrounds in architecture, landscape design or other comparable fields, one non-design professional resident, and up to two alternate residents with professional design background and two alternate residents without professional design backgrounds."

On February 12, 2015, the Town Council appointed Josepha Buckingham (architect), Stephen Sutro (architect), and Norman Hardie (non-design professional), and re-appointed Dan Winey (architect), Eric Soifer (architect), Mark Kruttschnitt (non-design professional), Chris Neumann (non-design professional), and Peter Nelson (non-design professional). ADR members Mark Fritts (architect) and Jim Kemp (architect) were standing members with terms scheduled to expire in February 2016. In total, the ADR is currently comprised of 9 members, of which six members are architects and three members are non-design professionals. ADR Group Members Jim Kemp and Mark Fritts were reappointed by the Council to continue third term to February 2018. ADR Group member Hardie resigned in 2016. The terms of ADR members Josefa Buckingham, Dan Winey, Eric Soiffer, Mark Kruittschnitt, Peter Nelson, Chris Nuemann, and Stephen Sutro expire this month.

As listed as a Council priority for Fiscal Year 2016-2017, staff is currently working with the ADR Group to reassess and possibly reorganize the duties and responsibilities of the ADR Group. A

complete recommendation on the reorganization of the ADR Group is expected to be presented at the Town Council's March 9, 2017. Until such time as the Council vets and agrees upon the purpose of the ADR, how it functions, and what is the best and most efficient process for the ADR Group, applicants, staff, and the Town Council, staff is requesting the Council extend the existing terms of the subject ADR Group members until June 27, 2017.